Parish Council

Laughton-en-le-Morthen Parish Council consists of seven voluntary councillors and two part-time clerks. The Parish Council was formed in 1994, as a result of a public consultation process started in 1986. In response to requests from parishioners for the formation of their own parish, a decision was taken by the Boundaries Commission to remove Laughton from Thurcroft Parish, to give Laughton its own local council. Meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of every month (except August) and start at 7.15pm  in the Village Hall, located on Firbeck Avenue, Laughton-en-le-Morthen. Documents relating to previous meetings can be found in the ‘Meetings & Minutes’ section of this website.

The Parish Council is the first tier of government, though Laughton-en-le-Morthen Parish Council is not aligned to any political party. All our meetings are open to parishioners who are welcome to attend. An agenda for the forthcoming meeting can be found on this website under ‘Meetings and Minutes’, and will be posted on the Friday preceding the meeting. Alternatively you can contact the Clerk to the Council, via the ‘contact us’ page. Our elected members work on a voluntary basis and do not claim any expenses relating to their role as councillors. In brief, the Parish Council discusses, governs and sets policies relating to the following areas, many of which are detailed further throughout the website:

  • Management of Parish Council finances and precept.
  • Local projects in the Parish including litter picking and the production of a twice yearly Parish Newsletter.
  • Parish Planting Scheme: currently incorporating the beds & borders throughout Laughton-en-le-Morthen, Brookhouse and Slade Hooton.
  • Local Planning Applications and planning issues in the capacity of a consultee.
  • Making grants to local community groups.
  • St John's Road Allotments
  • Car Park
  • Play Area
  • Recreation Ground consisting of grassed areas and football pitch, in its capacity as The sole trustee of Laughton Miners Welfare Scheme
  • Village Hall in its capacity as The sole trustee of Laughton Miners Welfare Scheme. The hall is run by the Village Hall Management CIO on a day to day basis under a lease granted by the trustee. This is a registered charity.